The Israel Physical Society


The Israel Physical Society is a voluntary non-profit society which acts to stimulate research and education in the various disciplines of physics. The organization is open to all scientists in the field (not only from Israel), including students, and professionals/individuals who support research and education in physics. Those who accept and wish to support the aforementioned objectives of the IPS are encouraged to become members. Joining the IPS has never been easier. 

 Quick links: Register; Login; Submit. Visit our facebook page.



July 28, 2021

The Israeli Physical Society is saddened to hear the news of the passing of Professor Steven Weinberg, professor at the University of Texas at Austin and laureate of the 1979 Nobel Prize in Physics.

Professor Weinberg was one of the greatest theoretical physicists of the second half of the 20th century. He was one of the formulators of the standard model of electroweak interactions, which explains the unity between electromagnetism and the weak nuclear force, two of the four fundamental forces known today. Experiments at CERN, the European Organization for Nuclear Research, have confirmed the detailed predictions of the theory.

In 1983, Professor Weinberg was the founder of the Advanced School in Theoretical Physics that is held annually at the Israel Institute for Advanced Studies at The Hebrew University of Jerusalem. Weinberg attracted the finest lecturers and students to the school, and most leaders in the field have since then participated in the School. With great dedication, Weinberg turned the School into one of the best in the world, benefiting many Physicists in Israel and abroad.

Professor Weinberg was a true friend of the State of Israel, and openly fought against scientific boycotts of Israel. He is an honored member of the generation of physics giants. May his memory be a blessing. 


Prof. Avishay Gal Yam
President of the Israel Physical Society


IPS Fellows 2021

Congratulations to Professor Halina Abramowicz (Tel-Aviv University), Professor Assa Auerbach (Technion), Professor Jay Fineberg  (Hebrew University of Jerusalem), Professor Michael Gronau (Technion),

Professor David Mukamel (Weizmann Institute of Science), Professor Eliezer Rabinovici  (Hebrew University of Jerusalem), Professor Yosi Yeshurun (Bar Ilan University)

who were honored at  2021 IPS meeting as Fellows of the Israel Physical Society.


The IPS award for young scientists

          Nathan Rosen Prize in Experimental Physics           Jacob Bekenstein Prize in Theoretical Physics        


Congratulations Dr. Shikma Bressler (Weizmann Institute of Science), Dr. Yonit Hochberg (Hebrew University of Jerusalem) who were honored at  2021 IPS meeting as Fellows of the Israel Physical Society.


The IPS Students award


Asher Peres prize for Experimental student      Racah prize for Theory student         Amos de Shalit prize for PhD Thesis


Congratularuions Dalya Baron (Tel Aviv University),  Ore Gottlieb (Tel Aviv University),  Or Katz (Weizmann Institute of Science) who were honored at  2021 IPS meeting as Fellows of the Israel Physical Society.


The IPS 2021 Poster awards


Gal Birenbaum, Modeling the multi-wavelength linear polarization in GRB afterglows

Soft-matter Nonlinear Biological and Statistical physics:
Anat Vivante , Chromatin Viscoelasticity Measured by Local Dynamic Analysis

Yiming Pan Alex Dikopoltsev, Anomalous Floquet Thouless pumping

Ilia Tutunnikov, Echoes in single quantum systems

Additional Physical disciplines: 
Y. Korotinsky, Microdosimetry aspects of Diffusing Alpha-emitters Radiation Therapy