IPS Fellows

IPS Fellows 2018


2018 ips fellows
Congratulations to Prof. Guy Deutcher, Prof. David HornProf. Hagai Netzer (Tel-Aviv University)and Prof. Joshua Zak (Technion) who were honored at  2018 IPS meeting as Fellows of the Israel Physical Society.

Deutscher, Guy  Tel Aviv University

For his leadership in experimental and theoretical research in the theory of superconductivity and in particular the "proximity effect". For his influential contributions to the research on percolation and localization in two dimensions and, for his leadership in building experimental condensed matter physics in Israel.    

Horn, David  Tel Aviv University

For his ground breaking discovery of the Dolan-Horn- Schmidt Duality in hadronic physics, and pivotal role in creating a community of high energy theoretical physicists in Israel.

Netzer, Hagai  Tel-Aviv University

For initiating observational astronomy in Israel, and for ground breaking research especially, the measurements of the masses of black holes in quasars centers and active galaxies and for opening the gates to astronomy to the general public.

Zak, Joshua  Technion – Israel Institute of Technology

For his contribution to condensed matter physics and in particular for the discovery of the magnetic translation group and the KQ representation also known as Zak representation and for the discovery of the topological phase in the band theory of solids known as Zak phase.